Being vegetarian means someone does not eat meat, poultry or fish. The two most
common types of vegetarianism are lacto-ovo and vegan. Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat
eggs (ovo) and dairy (lacto) however avoid all animal flesh. Vegans avoid every
thing from animal sources including eggs, dairy, gelatin and honey.
Generally, vegetarians should emphasize a variety of grains, fruits and vegetabl
es, milk and alternatives, beans, nuts, peas and seeds. Also, other important nu
trients include essential fats, vitamin B12 (generally found in animal based foods)
and vitamin D.
Other Special Diets
Special diet information provided by Registered Dietitian Maria Thomas at Urban Nutrition: Professional Nutrition Consulting in Vancouver.
Please read our disclaimer for important information about using this site.